Wishes in vain

Some wishes are in vain…because sometimes its too late

On the bosom of silence
I lay my wet face
While life callously moves
At its own painful pace
I wish I hadn’t taken the pains
Which weren’t mine to take
And not put so much
So carelessly at stake
I wish I could bring back
What was once mine
The me I lost
The “i” I could once define

I wish I had voiced my fears
And not trusted to the brim
And had seen through the smoke
The reality so grim
I wish I had asked
The questions I deserved to
And had been a little crafty
Not so sane ,not so true
I wish I could bring back
What was once mine
The me I lost
The “i” I could once define

I wish this wasn’t the way
I needed to take to become strong
And it would have been a little simpler
And not felt so wrong
I wish I could look in the mirror
And know myself again
And trust myself like before
And not need to feign
I wish I could bring back
What was once mine
The me I lost
The “i” I could once define

Constructive and genuine appreciation and/or criticism most welcome

